How can I tell people without being rude to not talk to me if they see me in public?  I have them on Facebook they all know it is hard for me to be out and I don’t want to talk to people while out. They still stop and talk to me. I do some times say ‘I have to go.’.  Then I just walk away. But there are some that I don’t have the heart to be rude to. My anxiety prevents it because they are such nice kind people. I just stand there trying to look as normal as possible and answer questions in one word. It is not hard by any stretch of the imagination to visually see I am uncomfortable and highly anxious. I do not understand why they keep talking to me. What do they when they ask ‘How are you doing’ I say fine and try to leave, but some reply ‘Well your not fine, but that is okay’. Great they know I am horribly ill, but then why keep talking when I am open about it bothering me but I can’t say anything at the time. They even like my posts and comment on them about this subject.

4 thoughts on “Rude

  1. Maybe you could post on Facebook and say something along the lines of

    “Hey Friends, I just wanted to let you all know how much I love and appreciate you! I just have one request, if I’m out and you see me, please just give me a smile and a wave – my anxiety is running really high at the moment and I’m struggling terribly every second that I need to be in public. While I would LOVE to be able to stop and talk to you in person, I just can’t at the moment. Please don’t be offended if I don’t notice you, again, the anxiety sometimes blinds me to everything around me, if it didn’t I’d probably melt into a traumatised puddle on the floor! Thank you so very much for understanding and supporting me, and I’d love to catch up with you some time soon in another place!”

    Or something along that path? XX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. That is wonderfully put and right on the money. People how don’t have or aren’t around those with anxiety and depression just don’t get how talking to anyone no matter how kind and good the intentions are cause crippling panic attacks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

